09
Oct
07

Tips Tuesday October 9th

This week’s Tips Tuesday is hosted by Deanna Chase.  Often we crave a glass color or characteristic we don’t have in our stash.  But, the reality is we probably do. 

Deanna says, “Ever feel like you are missing out on the cool streaky special production colors from Bullseye?  Make your own,  just take two colors from your supply and mix them together.  The base color on these beads is BE pink 301 and Erbium Pink Tint 1821. ”

 

Flaming Hot members are encouraged to post a tip within this general theme of creating custom colors.

 

*Want to host a Tips Tuesday?  Email me.

10 Responses to “Tips Tuesday October 9th”


  1. October 9, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I alwaysssssss have to make the colors I want, even with the huge pallets of color available, it seems its just a shade off from what I want.. I even started making a tutorial section on color mixes Ive used.
    You can achieve gorgeous colors from layering too!

  2. October 9, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    This is a great way to use those fabulous super saturated Reichenbach transparents! Choose a light opaque and warm it into a gather (about the size of a black olive when you are experimenting) Dab on just a few large blobs of a transparent such as Gold Ruby Extra. Mix the two together, being careful not to mix too much – you want to keep the streaks.

    You can then pull it into a thick stringer, but better yet, use the gather as is!

  3. October 9, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    I wanted to add that I always use compatible COEs when I do this. I stay within the 96 COEs. I would think that trying this with a base of COE 104 glass with the COE 96 transparents would be asking for breakage.

  4. October 9, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    I’m a big fan of mixing deep dark colors with clear to see through it. Bullseye adventurines all look fabulous mixed with clear.

  5. October 9, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    I am an effetre user but the same mixing applies to effetre. I mix colors often and I prefer to keep them a litle streaky. I also love to layer color. Peacock Blue with dark ameythst transparent overlay is a beautiful lavender color. I will talk about this more on my blog tonight when I’m home from work.
    http://www.jackiemixon.blogspot.com

  6. October 9, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    104 Carrot red with dark amethyst also makes a scrumptious red wine color!
    we could probably talk colors all day!
    104 perwinkle and rubino mixed thouroughly make a candy almost edp purple without the reactions..
    I use 96 and 104 glasses mostly, no never mixing!
    however, never mix up your 104 intense black rods with 96 black, youll never figure out the difference!

  7. October 9, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    If you’re looking for a great vine or leaf color, this is my no-fail kind. 🙂

    http://villa-design.blogspot.com/

    I absolutely love dark amethyst transparent layered over periwinkle! It’s even stronger with dark periwinkle.

  8. October 9, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Oh whoops that’s what I meant in my post before. Periwinkle not Peacock – both P names. My brain new it but my fingers typed something else! So I’ll give another one, mix black and lime green and you get olive green – not too much black though!

  9. October 10, 2007 at 3:52 am

    GREAT tips! I don’t do a lot of color mixing, but with these tips… I think it’s time to try- in a week or so…lol I know that mixing edp and rubino, then laying it over silver foil, makes some GREAT reactions with an extra POP to the pink color that you lose so often when working rubino over pink. That one’s fun!

  10. October 10, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Mixing color, for me, is a little different since I work mostly in boro now. The glass does so much mixing and shifting on its own! See some of my thoughts about it.


Leave a Reply

