23
Oct
07

Tips Tuesday – Keep a Journal

This weeks Tips Tuesday is hosted by Jennifer Miller of Beadguiling Designs

Jennifer says, “To remember cool color combinations or glass reactions, keep a journal next to your workspace.  It’s also a good idea to jot down ideas you’d like to try or new techniques you’ve learned from other bead makers.  Next time you’re sitting at the torch with no direction, you can pick up your journal and get lots of places to start.

In my case, journaling has been invaluable.  I stopped making beads for two years, and the first time I sat down to torch again I had no idea what to do or even which colors to melt.  One glance at my journal showed me where I had left off two years ago, and gave me a quick jump start. ”

 

Flaming Hot members are encouraged to post a tip within this general theme of finding color combinations.

 

*Want to host a Tips Tuesday?  Email me.

6 Responses to “Tips Tuesday – Keep a Journal”


  1. October 23, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    Great idea! I do something similar. Only my little scraps of paper aren’t nearly as orgainzed. I need a journal too.

  2. October 23, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Oh yeah! I just started doing this! I use to keep notes on notecards, then scraps of paper, then a file on my computer, now it’s a journal! Check my blog tonight for more on this great topic! http://www.jackiemixon.blogspot.com; webpage – http://www.jackiemixon.com

  3. October 24, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Here’s mine:
    http://lorigreenberg.com/blog/?p=617

    I forgot about the scraps of paper. Yikes…I can’t even imagine how old some of them are that are shoved into a little box now. At least I got a decorative box for them. 🙂

    Great topic!

    Lori

  4. October 24, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Oh what a good idea! I often think “how did I do that” and I never thought to keep a journal! Duh! 😀 Guess I better start taking notes! Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

