27
Nov
07

Tips Tuesday – Storing and Labeling Glass Rods

I take my rods and create bundles using coated hair elastics.  They still rot over time, but the coating keeps them from sticking to the glass.  I label them with a Sharpie marker.  The marker will burn off in the flame, yet stay on the rods as long as you need it to.

 Please post other ideas for storing labeling your glass rods.

8 Responses to “Tips Tuesday – Storing and Labeling Glass Rods”


  1. 1 Suz
    November 27, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    I have hot glue gunned some cardboard mailing tubes together to make a glass storage rack. Its a bit temporary, but works pretty well till I can get something sturdier…

  2. November 28, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Hmmm, always looking for good storage solutions. I have a horrible habit of always being in a hurry and NEVER labeling my rods… or, when I need a rod quickly, I’ll grab it and it if happens to be the one that is labeled, I always forget to go back and re-label the left over bundle when I’m done. You’ve given me some really good ideas of what I can do to fix this.
    THANKS!

  3. November 28, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    For some colors, like black, where I have several different kinds that I don’t want to mix-up I use white out on the very end of the rod. For instance my vetrofond black will have a white spot on it. I don’t currently have any effetre black, but should I get more in stock, I would put a dab of a colored white out on them. The Bullseye black is just left alone. Guess I need to invest in some more colors of white out with Hades around now too.

  4. November 28, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Shoe’s are a gal’s best friend. Trust me, it’s storage related. 🙂

    http://villa-design.blogspot.com/

  5. December 1, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    I use white-out on my darker rods and sharpies on my clear or lighter rods. I used to use the labels from a P-touch label maker, but it’s hard to use up your shorts with that system–I always forget to pull the label off before I get tot he point where the rod is too hot! Plus those labels STICK, which is good for many things but not for glass rods.

    My boro clear is labelled B, my Bullseye clear is left alone, and my Effetre / Vet clear is labeled E or V.

  6. December 6, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    I use the white out on the end too for a bad batch of Lauscha I got. (It is ok alone but doesn’t play well with others).

    I keep my rods in the ‘ranch fencing’ system where each hole holds about 2 lbs. of glass. Usually my glass comes with at least one rod in the bunch of color having a label with name and number. I leave that label on and it serves as my labeling system.

    The hair bands are a good one Susan! I used to use a spool of elastic and tied it around them instead of those nasty rubberbands that don’t last very long in the AZ dryness.

    The ice tube trays are awesome for benchtop organization.

    Oh jeez. I could do a whole post on this. 🙂

  7. 7 Melissa
    December 16, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Hi,
    I use a wood wine rack – the type with little cubbies and a drawer at the top. Added castors to make it mobile – it has 24 cubbies – enough for now but I bought an extra (still in the box) for the future. I also use a lazy susan with pottery kitchen utensil holders hot glued to it for a rod of each colour (grouped by hue) including stringers on my work bench. I tried the ice tube holders but they kept falling over. I really like the idea of using white out for marking – Thanks!

  8. December 16, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Because I only have a few full rods of intense black, I put a dot of white glass, smooshed, at the end of each rod. It doesn’t rub or scratch off. I also put a dab of white glass at the end of the intense black stringers I make so I can easily find them in the jar or on my work surface when I am in the middle of doing a design.


Leave a Reply

